What is there to be thankful for?

I’m back from my 3-month long hiatus. Truth is, I wasn’t on a hiatus for any particular reason – I’ve just been busy! But now back to my post…

What is there to be thankful for? A silly question, really. A lot. There’s a lot to be thankful for.

I have an amazing family, a loving boyfriend, a brand new living room that is gorgeous, and a fresh but adorable kitten Archie. My life is truly wonderful.

At times like these – Thanksgiving, the holidays – you really learn to appreciate all that you have; all that you are thankful for even more. But, these times can also hurt, if the ones you love – if the family or friends you are thankful for – aren’t around anymore.

2 weeks ago, my Uncle – my dad’s brother – passed away. My brother and I weren’t really close with him, seeing him and his family maybe twice a year if that. But my dad? And my dad’s other brothers? My cousins? My grandma? To them, he was family. He was a brother, a son, a dad.

It wasn’t until the funeral services that it really hit me. It was weird for me to know that I had once lived my life with 4 living uncles, and now I only had 3. I can’t imagine what it’s like for my dad to realize that he was once the middle brother; that he once had 4 living brothers, and now there’s only 3.

I tell this story because the two weeks leading up to Thanksgiving were probably incredibly difficult for my dad. Not to mention, his father passed away in 2007 on Christmas Eve day.

What is with passing away during the holidays in my family, anyway? They must just like to go on happy, cheerful terms – around the best time of year.

Anyway, despite how difficult laying his brother to rest must have been for him, I know that the day he spent up at my house on Thanksgiving helped him forget: Not that his brother was no longer with us, but forget how painful the last 2 weeks were. It was at that moment that I knew exactly what he was thankful for and it was us. My mom, my brother, me, Joe… all of us. That he had us in his life. That despite the bad, there’s so much good; so much to be thankful for.

I guess that’s what I’m trying to say. The holidays should always be a happy time. Money might be tight, a loved one may be gone, but ’tis the season of being thankful, of being cheery, and of spreading that joy. Instead of focusing on what you don’t have, be thankful for what you do.

 

Tell me what you think!

