Social Media Creepin’

It used to be fun. Seeing what people were up to from high school, trying to figure out who someone was by “creeping” on them. We all do it. Well, not me… anymore.

Without going into details, I recently had an experience where creeping on social media turned ugly – and fast. There was no outcome to my searching other than frustration, anger, annoyance, and ultimately I was hurt by what I saw. I knew that I wasn’t going to like it, but I did it anyway.

Why?

I’m still trying to answer that question. I don’t know. Curiosity? Knowledge?

There are some parts of Joe and I’s life that I am not a part of yet and while it’s difficult for me most days, I have always taken the high road and accepted it. But, where it’s the hardest is when I am left in the dark without any idea of what happens in that part of his life.

(Before I continue, this makes it sound like it’s his fault I’m not a part of it. It’s not, and hopefully soon our lives will become full circle. But until then… I deal with it).

I think that’s why I looked. Maybe I was hoping for some validation that I was just being crazy or that things had changed. And while I still feel a bit crazy, I know now that things haven’t changed. Is this truly the knowledge I was hoping for?

This not making sense to anyone? That’s okay. This is just back story. What I’m really trying to say is social media is an amazing, crazy, wonderful world that connects people from across the globe. But, on a personal, deeper level, sometimes diving into something you shouldn’t is just painful. When it becomes a place where one feels they need to be spiteful and purposely agitating, it makes it not as fun anymore.

I realized that “creeping” on someone puts you on the same level as they are when they talk about you on those websites. And getting upset over it let’s them win. Well, that’s not how I play the game. Nor should it be how anyone plays else plays it.

Go ahead – find that old high school friend you lost touch with or go look up your new boss on LinkedIn. Sometimes, it can just be fun. But, don’t be like me and try not to go looking for things you don’t really want to know.

Some say ignorance is bliss, and so far it has been.

Tell me what you think!

