Extreme Couponing

Yes, I jumped on the couponing bandwagon…. and I absolutely love it!

I amย definitely not up to speed with some of those professionals out there. I still dish out some cash on grocery shopping, but I am pretty proud of my week to week accomplishments.

Yesterday, I spent three or more hours cutting, sorting, printing, and sorting again. Then, I went through the Market Basket and Shaw’s fliers to find sale items that I had coupons for.

I wrote each of those sale items down, and what my coupon was for so I could get a good feel for how much I’d be spending and to see if the sale was really worth me getting the item. I also used that as a guide to see which store I wanted to purchase items in. By that, I mean that if Shaw’s and MB was having the same sale (2/$5 on cereal, for example), I personally want to buy it at Shaw’s because I get the associate discount.

Plus, at Shaw’s they have this Monopoly type game going on that gives us coupons. So, I could have both a manufacturer’s coupon and a store coupon from the game that I can use. Double savings!

This week, I got mustard for free, two toothpastes for $1.00, two four packs of Perdue Portions for under $6.00, and many more deals. For both of my pretty significant shopping orders at MB and Shaw’s I spent under $100. And, at Shaw’s alone, I had a 59% savings!

I can’t wait to get to the point where I can buy almost everything for free. I’m learning – and every week I’m searching even harder for coupons and deals. So maybe I’ll get there. But, for today, here’s my most recent coupon savings:

10253923_10201543854347472_2785627277198777193_n

Do you guys coupon? If so, what are your secrets? ๐Ÿ™‚

2 thoughts on “Extreme Couponing

  1. Sounds like some good savings! I coupon when I can (I have a young baby) and my “stockpile” is mainly things I’ve gotten for free after coupons! If I know something is going to be free or close to it after coupons, then I like to gather as many coupons for that item as I can…in order to stock up for while. Works for me ๐Ÿ™‚

    -Debbie
    http://couponsandmore.org

    • I am still working on getting things entirely for free! I get excited when I pay, say, 67 cents for Triscuits like I did today ๐Ÿ™‚ I am also still trying to find the easiest way to gather multiple coupons for one item. I just moved so I don’t know anyone well enough yet to snag their unused coupons!

      Couponing takes a ton of my time so good for you for finding the time with a young baby! No matter how much time it takes, though, it’s totally worth it ๐Ÿ™‚

Tell me what you think!

