House Hunters: Season Finale

Truth: I’ve never actually watched an episode of the HGTV’s show House Hunters. So, this post is not about that.

However, it is about house hunting and, more importantly, it’s about wrapping up that hunt.

For a few months now Joe and I have been traveling to New Hampshire once a week to look at houses that fit us – our style, our budget, and our life. New Hampshire is a much cheaper location than Massachusetts, which is why we’ve narrowed our search to that area.

We came so close on many different occasions.

The first, the house we were interested in was put under contract the day we started thinking about putting it an offer.

The second, we were just about ready to put in an offer when we found out the property was not structurally sound and would end up having to be demolished.

The third, we put in an offer – filled out all the paperwork and everything. Then, the seller went with a different offer.

Every step seemed like we were getting closer and closer, but I just kept getting let down and it was starting to take a toll. I wasn’t as excited about looking at houses anymore. And I certainly wasn’t excited about sharing any news.

It seemed like every time I went home with a positive attitude and showed my parents pictures, shared ideas something would go wrong.

That’s why I was a little bit more conscious and superstitious about this one. I found three pennies on the floor of the attic in the final house and I kept them. I even tried to keep them the same way I originally put them down – two were face up, and one was face down.

I didn’t want to jinx it.

So as everything kept happening and more & more good news kept flowing my way I truly thought it was because I did everything right this time.

I kept it under wraps until I was sure; I didn’t get my hopes up, and I didn’t get too excited with every passing step.

And, whether or not it was because the House gods finally realized we deserved this house, or because of me making my own luck, it paid off. We have a house!

1229861_10201198586595994_1153442738_n

It’s beautiful and I’m thrilled. I can’t wait to get in there and start doing all the decorating and styling work that it needs to make it our own.

I know it’s really early in Joe & I’s relationship, but this process seemed like it took forever. We’re so incredibly happy that we’ve gotten here and we can’t wait to see what else the future has to offer us!

(Don’t worry, future, we won’t accept another offer over yours. You’ve been pretty good to us so far).

And to those of you who may not understand why we kept this quiet until it was official – I apologize. Much like I couldn’t stop playing my kindle game during the Red Sox World Series games, I couldn’t break my superstitious habits. I love you all, and I hope you will come visit and help me make the house a home.

Big things happening in this girl’s life, and she couldn’t be happier. 🙂

Tell me what you think!

