You Can’t Always Get What You Want

You’d think in my 22 years I’d have learned that life isn’t always fair and that you can’t always get what you want.

But I haven’t.

Every time I think I know what those two phrases mean, I find myself in a state of disappointment and anger and sadness. Every time I think something is going to go the way I want it to, it doesn’t.

You know that thing called Murphy’s Law? Well, that’s my life in a nutshell.

I don’t mean to sound all depressing and negative, but if there’s anything I’ve learned over the past few months it’s that. I build up certain events in my life so much that when they don’t happen I’m left let down and bummed out.

And the next time I think something great is going to happen, I get excited again. And, then I’m let down… again.

It’s starting to take a toll on me, and I’m not entirely sure how to deal with it. So, I’m trying something new.

You know that phrase “Hope for the best, but expect the worst”? I think I’m going to apply that to my life in every way possible, no matter how big or how small.

For example:

“I really hope that the store has black raspberry ice cream, but I’m not expecting it to.”

“I really hope that we like this next house, but I don’t think we will.”

“I really hope our weekend plans will work out the way we want, but they probably won’t.”

Again, is that a negative, dreary way to go through life? Maybe. But, how else can you save yourself from the disappointment that seems to follow wherever you tread?

Until Murphy’s Law starts to go the other way — you know, instead of saying “Anything that can go wrong, will go wrong” it goes “Anything that can go right, will go right” — I don’t see any other way to save me from this feeling that I hate.

Because my best friend just used her positive energy to boost me up, I need to add that I do have a wonderful life. I have an amazing support system – my friends, family, and boyfriend – and for the most part everything has been great. I guess it’s the small things that can make a big difference.

So now that leads me to: What happened to my New Year’s Resolution of don’t sweat the small stuff?

I am normally a positive person. I like to think that, in time, the best in people always comes out and that things always do happen for a reason; that the outcome of whatever that “thing” is will be for the best. But, sometimes, it’s not.

So, I think I have finally learned that life isn’t always fair and that I definitely will not always get what I want. But, if I stop thinking that it is and that I will, maybe life will surprise me.

Tell me what you think!

