Jacoby Ellsbury… is a Yankee

Is this a surprise to anyone? Probably not. But that doesn’t mean it’s not a huge bummer.

I never thought Ellsbury would start and finish his career in Boston – especially not with Scott Boras as his agent – but can’t hurt a girl to hope, can it?

I’ll admit – I have a framed picture of Ellsbury (it was a gift) in my room, so yes I went through a “He’s so cute!!” phase. However, without regard to his good looks, he was a killer center fielder and got the Red Sox out of some tough jams with his bat. It’s going to be hard to replace him.

And even though the Sox completely beat out the Yanks this year, what he did is still a traitorous move. In fact, in December of 2005, Johnny Damon did the exact same thing and, well, we all know how that turned out. People still talk about how he’s a traitor to Sox Nation!

While I, too, wish he either stayed in Boston or went toΒ any other team but the Yankees, I don’t blame him. For $152 million dollars over seven years, wouldn’t you go too?

Besides not having his talent on our team, I’m also upset that now when he returns to Boston in pinstripes the crowd will be booing him, instead of cheering. If it was any other team than the Yankees, he probably would have gotten some sort of ovation. But nope – that’s dead and gone.

I guess all that’s left to do now is thank him for his six seasons with the Red Sox – because I’m sure as hell not wishing him luck with the Yankees.

 

2 thoughts on “Jacoby Ellsbury… is a Yankee

  1. Pingback: Yanks Sign Ellsbury for 7 Years | GET REAL BASEBALLGET REAL BASEBALL

  2. Pingback: It Was a Pine Tar Kind of Night | A Blackjack of All Trades

Tell me what you think!

