First week on the job

As promised, I am here to update after my first week working as a full time employee.

So some things I discovered:

1. The company I work for has many names. On the door to the office it says “Service Inbound” and when my coworkers answer their phones and talk to clients they say “___ from The Service Coach.” So I have decided to tell people I work at The Service Coach, mainly because it has a legitimate Facebook profile page. That makes it a thing, right?!

2. I have a title! I am officially a …. drum roll please….. SEO (Search Engine Optimization) Content Writer. Cool huh?

3. I have clients. Well, I don’t personally, but we do as a company and since it’s made up of only seven people I feel comfortable saying they are partly mine. I think that’s neat.

My first day I sort of just jumped right in to working. They set me up with an email account, gave me passwords and log ins for a bunch of different things, and told me to have at it. And I did! The actual work I did is hard to explain for people that don’t know so I’ll just keep it at that.

But one thing I really love is the content we manage for our clients (we build websites and handle marketing on Google and such) is produced on WordPress. All week I had to put a bunch of content up on sites and it was so much easier for me because I already knew how to do almost everything. Glad I started this blog!

Obviously it was a weird adjustment – knowing I don’t have a day off during the week and that I have to get up, commute, and not see the outside world for 9 1/2 hours. But on the flip side, I like knowing exactly what my hours are and exactly what I’ll be doing each day.

Because this job is so new, I decided I was going to continue working at Shaw’s on Saturdays only and have Sundays as my day off. That was kind of a stupid decision because I was feeling it hard Saturday night. I know there are many people in the world who do 50 hour work weeks regularly, but for someone who was just starting out my 53 hours this week killed me. And I just have to do it again next week.

But it will all be worth it in the end – when I am not stressing each month when the college loans come in and when I have enough money saved up to move into a place with Joe. And on top of that, I get to do what I love – write!

All in all, I’d say it was a successful week. I have a lot of work ahead of me, but such is the life of a girl with a full time job right?!

So here are the pictures I promised. I have one of my first day and my third. The first day was a given. I mean, I have to capture the moment I went to work as a full time employee for the first time. And Wednesday… I just liked my outfit. 🙂

1238145_10200405071158604_97367022_n 1234263_10200394551575621_1992135499_n <- First day!

 

Have a lovely week, bloggers. Thanks for reading!

Tell me what you think!

