The end is near

And for some aspects of my college career – they have already ended.

Last night marked my final evening as Co-Editor-in-Chief of the Westfield Voice. I have held that position for three years and to send off the final edition was bittersweet. I have made amazing friends and spending the last night with them in our office was something I’ll never forget.

When I came to college four years ago, I told myself that one day I wanted to become Editor-in-Chief of the newspaper. I would do anything I could to achieve that goal. But as a freshman, I looked at that and said to myself, “That’s such a prestigious position. I don’t know if I can do it.” But I did it. And for three years.

Now, to have it actually all be over and to reflect on my time here, I would not have done anything differently. Being part of the newspaper was by and large my greatest accomplishment and the piece of my college career I will miss the most. I am so proud to have served my school in this way. But I am also proud that I did the one thing I always wanted to do.

The memories and the friends I’ve made as a result of the newspaper will be with me for the rest of my life and I have them to thank for making these last four years the best I could have ever imagined.

So, if you’re just starting out in college and you have this burning desire to do something – do it. No matter how far off it may seem or how difficult the mountain may be to climb to get there. I promise you… if it’s something you believe is worth doing, go after it wholeheartedly. I did, and the only regret I have is having to say goodbye.

Here’s my Senior Voice Staff and the people who made my three years on the newspaper so much fun. You guys are the best. Thanks for all the memories!

2 1 3 4 5 6

1 3 4 6 2

 

 

As Edward Murrow would say… good night and good luck. ❀

Tell me what you think!

