We made it! 2013 has arrived!

Happy New Year one and all!

2013 is here and I for one am looking forward to so many things — my college graduation, celebrating my 5 year anniversary with Matt, my brother graduating high school, the Maroon 5 concert, etc. I’m hoping for a successful, prosperous, and very happy year for me and for all of you!

But I’m excited for something else, too.

As they do in every year, new songs and artists will arise topping the charts and burning everyone’s ears after a week from the amount of times the radio plays them. But yet, we all listen and enjoy.

I can’t predict the songs that we’ll hear in 2013, but I will give you my 21 favorite top 100 songs of 2012.

1. Payphone – Maroon 5: Obviously. Ranking in at #4 on the Billboard Chart… it’s definitely number one in my heart for favorite songs of 2012. I remember being in Washington, D.C. when the single came out and I constantly played it on repeat.
I’m at a payphone trying to call home, all of my change I spent on you.

2. One More Night – Maroon 5: They had a lot of good songs this year! I really should just put their whole “Overexposed” album on here. I understand why this song was only #18 though. The radio played it way too much. Good for me, bad for probably everyone else.
You and I go hard at each other like we’re going to war. You and I go rough, we keep throwing things and slammin’ the door.

3. Moves Like Jagger – Maroon 5 ft. Christina Aguileira: I still jam to this song. Especially when I’m driving on the highway. It gives me an excuse to drive fast ;). Billboard’s #36 of the year.
Just shoot for the stars, if it feels right then aim for my heart.

4. Drive By – Train:  SO GOOD. Train is amazing anyway. Pat Monahan can literally do no wrong. #19.
On the other side of a street I knew, stood a girl that looked like you. I guess that’s deja vu but I thought this can’t be true. 

5. 50 Ways to Say Goodbye – Train: When I first heard this song, I was like “Where did that opera voice come from!?” because it was so different than anything I’ve heard from them. But now I love it. Though, I’m still trying to learn all the ways she dies. Definitely deserves a higher spot than #81.
My heart is paralyzed, my head was oversized, I’ll take the high road like I should. You said it’s meant to be, that it’s not you it’s me, you’re leaving now for my own good.

6. Stereo Hearts – Gym Class Hereos ft. Adam Levine: At first I only liked this song because it had Adam in it, but now I quite enjoy rapping the whole thing. #61.
My heart’s a stereo, it beats for you so listen close. Hear my thoughts in every note o-oh.

7. We Are Young – fun.: I was going to put this lower, but then I realized how much I actually enjoyed this song after I got used to it and so here it is. I don’t know about #3 best song, but it was pretty good.
Give me a second I, I need to get my story straight. My friends are in the bathroom getting higher than the Empire State. My lover she’s waiting for me, just across the bar.

8. Home – Phillip Phillips: I think this one was ranked #49 because he was an American Idol winner and aside from Kelly and Carrie, no one’s really all that famous from that show. But Phillip actually made a name for himself, with this song being the theme of the 2012 Olympics and everything. I think it deserves more credit.
Hold on, to me as we go, as we roll down this unfamiliar road. And although this wave is stringing us along, just know you’re not alone. I’m gonna make this place your home.

9. Not Over You – Gavin Degraw: First, I want to say I am so sad that he got beat up a couple days before the Maroon 5 concert I saw a couple years ago because he was supposed to perform! Love Gavin! Even though I got sick of this song after a while, still one of my favorites from 2012. #60.
Dreams, that’s where I have to go to see your beautiful face anymore. I stare at a picture of you and listen to the radio. Hope, hope there’s a conversation. We both admit we had it good.

10. Rumour Has It  – Adele: I think this is the only radio-played Adele song I can still stand. And that is only because I love, love, loved The Voice’s Mathai’s version of it last season. She was amazing! But, it is Adele’s song after all and I guess her version is pretty good. #64.
She, she ain’t real. She ain’t gonna be able to love you like I will. She is a stranger, you and I have history, or don’t you remember?

11. Gangnam Style – PSY: Not sure if I’ll have many lyrics to put with this one… but seriously… how can I not include it? It’s the strangest, dumbest song in history, but it’s so funny and catchy that I have to listen to it and dance. I’m pretty surprised this song is only #47 with the amount of attention it got.
Here goes: Hey sexy lady. Op Op Op Oppa Gangnam style!

12. Some Nights: fun.: I don’t exactly get the entire purpose of this song, but I love singing it and think the “SO COME ON! OH, COME ON!” part is so good. Ranked perfect at #14.
Some nights I stay up cashing in my bad luck. Some nights I call it a draw. Some nights I wish that my lips could build a castle. Some nights I wish they’d just fall off.

13. Good Time – Owl City & Carly Rae Jepson: Not one of my all time favorites, but it served it’s purpose for a popular summer tune that was fun to sing. #38.
Woke up on the right side of the bed, what’s up with this Prince song inside my head? Hands up if your down to get down tonight.

14. Party Rock Anthem – LMFAO ft. Lauren Bennett and GoonRock: I’m surprised this ranked at #29 because I would have put others up way higher than this, but then again it was extremely hot in 2012. Every time I come across this song on my iPod I want to switch it, but I just can’t bring myself to do it.
Party rock is in the house tonight. Everybody just have a good time. And we gonna make you lose your mind. Everybody just have a good time.
P.S. If you haven’t seen the below video… watch it. Now.

15. Call Me Maybe – Carly Rae Jepson: Why is this so far down on the list, you ask? This is totally, like, the best song ever, you say? Ya, well, it was for the first month. Now, all I want to do when I hear it is a) shut it off or b) make fun of it in a weird voice. But it’s on here because I, too, listened to this song over and over belting it out like crazy when it first came out. So, even though its #2 overall, it’s definitely not for me.
I threw a wish in the well, don’t ask me I’ll never tell. I look to you as it fell and now you’re in my way.

16. Somebody That I Used to Know – Gotye ft. Kimbra: I do believe this song is well-deserving of the #1 spot, but I put it so far down simply because I liked other songs better. Nothing against Gotye, and Imma let you finish, but Maroon 5 had the best song of all time. Sorry. This has nothing to do with Kanye.. I just couldn’t resist.
Now and then I think of when we were together, like when you said you were so happy you could die. 

17. Wide Awake – Katy Perry: I remember saying to myself when I finally listened to this song all the way through, “Wow, I kinda like this.” Later on I said, “This song is really growing on me.” and then… it made it on this list. I hate to admit it, but it’s hard not to like Katy Perry. I really like her purple hair too.. #15.
Yeah, I was in the dark, I was falling hard with an open heart, I’m wide awake.

18. Rolling in the Deep – Adele: I’m genuinely happy this song is at #71 because it was good, but way overplayed and overrated. I won’t intentionally put this song on and sometimes I even skip over it, but if it happens to come on the radio or if my friends play it I’ll sing along. Why not right? It was the best damn thing since sliced bread when it first came out.
There’s a fire starting in my heart, reaching a fever pitch and it’s bringing me out the dark. Finally I can see you crystal clear. Go ahead and sell me out and I’ll lay your ship bare.

19. Someone Like You – Adele: This song is so far down my list for the same reasons as above. I just got sick of it. But I can’t hate on Adele. #43.
I heard that you’re settled down, that you found a girl and you’re married now. I heard that your dreams came true. Guess she gave you things I didn’t give to you.

20. Without You – David Guetta ft. Usher: If I remember right, I didn’t really care for this song at first. It was probably because I thought it was some stupid rap song that “pop” radio stations these days love so much. But it is deserving of a spot on my list and apparently #50 on Billboard.
I can’t win, I can’t reign, I will never win this game without you.

21. Don’t Wake Me Up – Chris Brown: It hurts a little to put Chris Brown anywhere on this list, but I must give credit where credit is due. For some reason unknown to all man, I enjoy this song a little bit. #56.
Dearly beloved, if this love only exists in my dreams, don’t wake me up.

So, readers, what were your favorite songs of 2012? And are you, too, looking forward to the new music of 2013? Sound off!

 

Tell me what you think!

